Chickpea Tofu Scramble

Hey Everyone! A great idea for breakfast if you want a plant based option will definitely be a scramble, but not just any scramble. Have you try tofu scramble? Well, I went a step future to add chickpeas to the line up and it created an awesome combination!!! Eating plant based meals does not have to be boring, get creative.

My kids even loved this dish..well 3 out of 4. We still praying for my picky 3 year old:). Anyhow it was a hit! I remember the first time they tried tofu after my husband and I started to add it to our diet, they were a little skeptical. Of course, that was to be expected, but as I always tell people about the importance of being good examples to your kids first and hopefully they will eventually follow as it relates to them eating more veggies,etc…

Chickpeas really work well in this dish.

I used I think it was firm tofu and use about 1/2 of the block. I do press some of the water out. Next add about 1 tbsp of olive oil to my pan and then added my tofu.

Added also 1 tbsp nutritional yeast, 1/2 tsp turmeric, 1/2 tsp garlic and onion powders. You can add seasonings to your liking and taste.I used my spoonula to break tofu up as it cooked in the pan.

Meanwhile while I let tofu cook over medium heat, I got my (1 can )chickpeas (drained) and added to my blender. Next add blended peas to tofu mixture along with about 1/2 cup thick and chunky salsa. I let this simmer and cook literally for about 45 minutes. I love how the flavors marinate and the smell is awesome. Within this time, I did add about 1 cup fresh spinach.

Plate up and enjoy!! Great source of protein with a great taste. Remember to keep taking STEPS to where you want to be.

Small Steps equals BIG Change!!

Monica

About steps4changeblog

Wife.Mother.Author.Nutritionist.Lover of Jesus!!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chickpea Tofu Scramble

  1. Pingback: How to make chickpea meatballs | Blogging Healthy Tips w/Monica

  2. Pingback: VEGAN PIZZA | Blogging Healthy Tips w/Monica

Leave a comment