Homemade Chocolate Chip Granola Bars (Tasty Tuesday Tip)

IMG_20191010_183058_459

Hey Everybody!!! So the other day I decided to make some homemade granola bars. If you are like me and have small kids and try to have healthier snack options on hand, then you understand that “kids love SNACKS”. My 17 month old always says, “I want a snack”. Keep snacks on hand is a must. One of the snacks that my kids enjoy are granola or fruit grain bars. Why not make your own? I also look for ways to save money and making them yourself is a STEP toward saving a little pocket change. Granola bars are easy to put in your bag, store in the fridge and grab for a quick snack and energy booster.

If you think you don’t have time, these are super simple and don’t take long to prepare. Make a large batch and store for later use. No, you don’t have to kids to make these, but if you are looker for a snack to make yourself and control your ingredients, these are for you. One thing I like about granola bars is that you can be very creative and add or take away ingredients. No store-bought bars needed.

Do you think these were a hit for my hubby and kids? Hmmm…we will find out!!!

Let’s get to the recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1-1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2 cups instant oats(not old fashion oats)
  • 1/4 cup flax seed
  • 1 3/4 cup rice crispy cereal
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips(can use raisins, dried cranberries, etc)

Instructions:

In a large pot, combine butter, brown sugar and honey. Bring to a boil.

20191010_132819

20191010_133430

After bringing to boil, lower the heat and let simmer and it will slightly thickened. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla and salt. I did use rubber spatula.

20191010_133758

Add oats, rice cereal and flax seeds. Fold with spatula and transfer mixture to a pan and use spatula to press firmly to even out mixture.

20191010_134033

20191010_134145

I added some chocolate chips on top of my mixture and set in refrigerator for about 2 hours until firm. If you do not like chocolate chips, feel free to use dried cranberries or raisins. Be creative!!!

IMG_20191010_183058_459

Cut and store. So what did my kids think of these bars??

 

I got two thumbs up!! My husband loved them as well!!! If your family approves, you have a winner!

Enjoy♥♥♥

 

About steps4changeblog

Wife.Mother.Author.Nutritionist.Lover of Jesus!!!!
This entry was posted in Healthy Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment